For almost four centuries, the princely Topkapi Palace served because the official residence of the sultans and dominated the empire. It is one among the world’s largest surviving palace. Grand Turk Mehmed II started work on the palace shortly when the conquest of city in 1453 and lived here till his death in 1481. In 1924, the palace became a repository that exhibits an intensive assortment of art, porcelain, jewelry, manuscripts and different treasures of the empire. vital artifacts embrace the jewel-encrusted Topkapi dagger and therefore the 86-carat Spoonmaker’s Diamond. The palace is additionally home to commemorated Islamic relics, as well as the Prophet Mohammed’s arm and cloak. Most of the stunning complex is open to the public.
The Ottoman palace has four primary courtyards and several outbuildings. Known as the Janissaries Court, the first courtyard is where elite palace soldiers stood guard. The square contains a magnificent fountain and the Byzantine church of Hagia Irene, which Emperor Justinian constructed in the 548. The church survived because it was used as a storehouse and imperial armory by the Ottomans. The second courtyard is a lush green space encompassed by the former imperial harem and the Tower of Justice as well as a hospital and kitchens, which prepared thousands of meals each day.
Suleiman the Magnificent constructed the entry gate. The third courtyard contains the treasury and the library of Ahmed III. Entry to the third courtyard was strictly regulated and off-limits to outsiders. The fourth courtyard served as the sultan’s inner sanctum. Known as the Tulip Garden, the buildings are adorned with mother-of-pearl, tortoise shell inlays and exquisite blue-and-white Iznik tiles. Other architectural highlights include marble staircases and a reflecting pool.